iPhone Tutorial -How to deal with iPhone ‘other’ storage? And how can you remove it

How to deal with iPhone 'other' storage

iPhones now offer more storage than ever before, but without the option to add a microSD card, you may still feel that this is not quite enough.

 

While you may be wary of how many photos, videos, or music tracks you have stored on your device, some mystery remains in the iPhone’s “Other” storage category.

 

Gratefully, there are some options for clearing this myriad of leftover files and caches. Here’s how to do some spring cleaning.

How to check your iPhone storage?

 

On your device, open your Settings menu and go to “General” and then iPhone Storage.

 

The color-coded bar will show how your available storage is partitioned, appearing as the “other” gray color. The full stay count may take a few seconds, so just allow a little time.

 

There is a lot of “other” storage in our example below, but it may be down to running iOS 14 beta. Apple says “other” storage will fluctuate, so don’t panic if it changes from day to day.

What is “other” storage?

 

Here you can see, “other” is a way of grouping together a large number that does not fit into any other category.

 

It can be downloaded from your web browser of choice with a huge amount of messages with Netflix video, cache or simply attachments.

 

How to shrink “other” storage?

 

Option 1: Clear Older Messages

Clear Older Messages iphone

In Settings, go to the “Message” category and scroll to “Message History”. Your iPhone is set to hold messages forever, but it may soon run out of space.

 

You can swap it for 1 year or 30 days, which will explain anything beyond those parameters.

 

Option 2: Clear the browser cache

Clear the browser cache on Safari

Safari cache can be very dense with data, and it comes at the cost of storage.

From Settings go to –>> “Safari” –>> “Clear History –>>Website Data” (iOS 13 or earlier) / “Website Data” (iOS 14).

 

If you are using Chrome instead, there is also an option to clear its cache.

Open Google Chrome –>> Go To–>> “Settings” –>>”Privacy” –>>”Clear browsing data”.

 

Select sections to delete, and then free some space to empty them.

 

Option 3: Backup and Reset

 

We ideally want to avoid this, but Apple’s file system only gives users what they allow you to purge.

 

This means that sometimes it is easier to just restart, restoring the device from a backup.

 

Connect your iPhone to a PC (and use iTunes) or a Mac (and look in the sidebar of Finder). Back up your device using either method and make sure to select the “Encrypt local backup” option to save the account password.

 

Once you have done this, unplug your phone and go to “Settings”, “General”, “Reset” and “Erase All Content and Settings”.